There are four stages of ARS -
and each of the 3 syndromes has all of these stages:

back (1K)       next (1K)

  • 1. Prodromal stage : (N-V-D stage): The classic symptoms for this stage are nausea and vomiting, as well as anorexia and possibly diarrhea (depending on dose), which occur from minutes to days following exposure. The symptoms may last (episodically) for minutes up to several days.

    • People who are exposed to large whole body doses (CNS syndrome) will experience the prodromal stage almost immediately after exposure. Smaller exposures (Bone Marrow Syndrome) will take longer for this stage to manifest.

    • The other three stages also follow this rule. The greater the exposure the shorter the duration of each stage.

Page 41

back (1K)       next (1K)